Apply now for the 2018 Perma-Bound Buckeye Book Awards Programming Grant!

We are happy to announce the winners of the 2017 Perma-Bound Buckeye Book Awards Programming Grant. Educators or librarians who work with children in the grade ranges of K-12 in Ohio applied for a grant to use the awarded books in activities or programs that promote literacy, give more children access to great books and get children and teens involved in the Buckeye Book Award voting process. The winners are:

  • K-2: Arin Burton, Lima Public Library
  • 3-5: Nellie Schmidt, Van Wert Elementary School
  • 6-8: Billie Hoag, New Lexington City
  • Teen: Maria Pocek, Kimpton Middle School

The winners of this grant won three copies each of the top five nominees in their grade level, for a total of 15 books, from Perma-Bound. Applications were judged on criteria including the creativity of programming proposals, the number of children that will be engaged in the activities, and the emphasis placed on increasing literacy and involvement in the Buckeye Book Award voting process over time. Special consideration was also given to schools and organizations demonstrating financial need.

Next year’s grant application process will open shortly after the new year, so check back here for details and the application. Congratulations to our winners!

Winner’s Showcase


Arin Burton, Lima Public Library

“The Lima Public Library is excited to host a 5-week Little Buckeyes Book Club for children in K-2nd grade, featuring a new title each week from the Perma-Bound Grant. I will read the selected book aloud and then let them participate in a fun activity and snack based on the book. At the end of the 5 weeks all of the children who participated will have a time to vote for their favorite story at our voting party. We will be using some of the books as prizes as well as looking for other fun reading and buckeye-themed giveaways!”

Lima Public Library Progress Report



Nellie Schmidt, Van Wert Elementary School

“For about a month leading up to election week, we will share 1-2 books per week during library time as well as have activities to go with the books and encourage students to check out the book to read more to find out what happens. During election week, we decorate the library with patriotic decorations, set up mock voting booths and walk kids through the voting process using Google Forms to tabulate the results. Once students have voted, they will get an “I Voted” sticker, we see who the building winner is and I submit it to the Buckeye Book Awards site.”

Van Wert Schools report



Billie Hoag, New Lexington City

“6th-8th graders in New Lexington City Schools will promote nominated books on their morning announcements, books will be included in a multi-district reading contest, library computers will be dedicated to BCTBA voting, and students will have discussions about the books.”



Maria Pocek, Kimpton Middle School

“Students at Kimpton Middle School will create book trailers for each of the Buckeye Children’s and Teen Book Award Nominees in grades 6-8 and Teen.  These will then be made available to students who would like to preview the nominated books in order to choose one to read or vote for one. The videos are available on the BCTBA Award Council Youtube channel for teachers and librarians to view and share with their students.”